Two Towers Brewery

When fellow blogger Dave invited me to join him to the press launch of one of Birmingham’s finest breweries  I was intrigued . 

I had, of course heard of Two Towers brewery but I had not visited the Gunmakers arms where the microbrewery  is located at the back of their beer garden. 


 located at 93 Bath Street the Gunmakers arms is a very traditional old pub, and had it been located in Digbeth or the Jewellery  Quarter it would be very hipster and possibly pretentious  but as it is, just off the beaten track only 10 minutes walk from Snow Hill station the Gunmakers is a good old honest, down to earth pub that happens to have a talented team of brewers.

The brewery is just at the back of the  beer garden, which in itself is a lovely little micro climate  and was considerably warmer than the biting cold that met me when I walked to the Gunmakers. 

With a capacity of 360 gallons a week and a host of tasty ales, my favorite was a brew called Brummie. All the ales have a Birmingham based name such as Boozy Floozy and Baskerville the brewery produces nine  ales. 

One of our hosts showed us around their tiny headquarters  and explained the entire process.  I was stunned to find the product can be a very drinkable ale in as little as 3 weeks.  This is definitely  somewhere I’d take a visitor to our city, the brewery does host tours to the public and of course the Gunmakers arms have the same ales on tap, so even if you visit in the evening you can still look into the brewery whilst warming your cockles with a fabulous  local brew. 


Joining  Two Towers for the  day was a lady called Afia and her mum Rukhsana and they helped soak up the beer and kept us very warm with their lovely homemade samosas .  Made to Afias mums family recipe but available  to order via the website info@Afias.Co.uk for you to cook at home I thoroughly  taste tested the samosas, onion bargees and gluten free range of  award winning tasty treats. Afia’s  samosa shop  was the perfect food choice for the day. I shall be ordering some of Afia’s  turkey & cranberry samosas before Christmas,  not least because they were one of the few I didn’t get to try and everything I did have was a delight. Afia’s  homemade pickles are a tasty treat too.  

Unfortunately  Afia and her mum had not packed their correct pan and the pakora   Rukhsana made was not considered “good enough” to offer to us hungry foodies. Fortunately  for Afia and Rukhsana  I’m marginally less fussy than most people and I scoffed the lot, it was amazing. So I highly recommend  you visit the Gunmakers Arms, check out the brewery if you can but don’t worry if you miss the brewery you can try the finest of locally produced ales in the bar. 

And if you really want to push the boat out I suggest you order some of Afia’s beautiful, traditional,  handmade with love, family recipe samosas .  It’s a winning combination . Light, crisp and never heavy or greasy Afia cooks up some fabulous  tradition Pakistani  treats. 

8 Comments

  1. I too am a Brummie Blogger and was at the Gunmaker’s Arms last night for the launch…..Mark Arnott-Job is such an engaging ‘mine host’…..My faves are the ‘Dark Beers’: Jewellery Porter and the Birmingham Mild…..to die for! And if you want another Brill Brummie Dining experience the Gunmakers Sunday lunch is great value….me and the Missus Mary and her 87 year old Dad George all ate a hearty Sunday Lunch for less than a tenner for the 3 of us……Brill value….I had the roast chicken with all the trimmings and Mary and George had the pork roast….I can heartily recommend it…..please follow my ‘Birmingham Blog from Downtown Bearwood’ where you can read my #BrumPoems at: https://keithbracey.wordpress.com Cheers…..Bottoms up! Keith Bracey AKA The Brummie Bard

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on keithbracey and commented:
    I too am a Brummie Blogger and was at the Gunmaker’s Arms last night for the launch…..Mark Arnott-Job is such an engaging ‘mine host’…..My faves are the ‘Dark Beers’: Jewellery Porter and the Birmingham Mild…..to die for! And if you want another Brill Brummie Dining experience the Gunmakers Sunday lunch is great value….me and the Missus Mary and her 87 year old Dad George all ate a hearty Sunday Lunch for less than a tenner for the 3 of us……Brill value….I had the roast chicken with all the trimmings and Mary and George had the pork roast….I can heartily recommend it…..please follow my ‘Birmingham Blog from Downtown Bearwood’ where you can read my #BrumPoems at: https://keithbracey.wordpress.com Cheers…..Bottoms up! Keith Bracey AKA The Brummie Bard

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

