Stirchley Baths

We were invited to a book launch this week. That’s a first for both of us. It was at Stirchley Baths and I must tell you about the building first. It is, as the name suggests the old town baths and pool and it is beautiful, the name carved into the ornate brickwork above  the main entrance, the original tiles still on a lot of the internal wall and even some copies of original  blueprints for the baths on display.

It’s a really pretty Edwardian  building that has been sympathetically  reworked to now become the local community  centre. Complete with a coffee shop, lovely  staff and definitely  the nicest chai latte I’ve had this year.

Edit
The book being launched was the Birmingham cook book. Sadly I did not pick up my complimentary  copy but that has been organised for later next week, but we did get to try a number of the recipes  including a tasty pesto lasagne made by ChangeKitchen, the cafe inside stirchley baths, and some delicious  macaroons baked by Ali Imdad  of GBBO fame. Those macaroons will stay with me for a long time, I’m not a sweetie lover but they were so very nice I did return for a second one, I was too late though as they had all gone, food going that fast is always the sign of a good cook in my opinion.  

Wine for the evenings event was supplied by  Chris Connolly of Connolly’s wines (unit 13 livery street birmingham)  as well as being very knowledgeable  about wine in general Chris had some lovely wines that we got to try and they were just lovely, so unlike my usual supermarket selection. Connolly’s wines have been added to our Christmas shopping essential  stores list now. 

This was a different experience  for us, a much more genteel event than what we are used to, maybe life really is different  away from the city.

It was a very warm evening so the walk to Bournville  train station was a welcome break, even though the rooms were air conditioned  I was in need of a blast of fresh air. I loved that Bournville  station is painted up in Cadbury purple for visitors to know they are at the right stop for Cadbury  world, unfortunately  we arrived on the wrong platform and had to use the underpass, that was a little less friendly but we got our train to city centre easily enough. 

As soon as I pick up my copy of the Birmingham cookbook I shall update this to let you know more about it but I do know it is available on amazon for £14.95 as well as Waterstones. It is a celebration of my beautiful city and its food with a foreword  by Michelin  stared chef Glyn Purnell and features recipes from  Alison Hammond, Original  Patty Men and The Tame Hare at Lemington. 

If you’re ever around the Stirchley  area I recommend  you call in to see the lovely ladies at Changekitchen and enjoy one of their delicious   Chai latte.

Leave a Reply

